There are four levels of LEED certification, and projects are awarded points as a project is built. Depending upon the number of points received, the project is awarded certified, silver, gold or platinum status.

According to the USGBC, there are nine key areas measured by LEED:

  • Sustainable Sites

  • Water Efficiency

  • Energy and Atmosphere

  • Materials and Resources

  • Indoor Environmental Quality

  • Location and Linkages

  • Awareness and Education

  • Innovation in Design

  • Regional Priority